continue shopping



2015 is officially going to be known as the year of the comeback, with artists like Refused and Faith No More releasing their first albums in almost 20 years! While we still have some time before that Refused album comes out on June 30th, for now, a new Faith No More album is days away. After countless teasers, singles, and live performances of new songs over the past couple of months, May 18th, the day of the album’s release, is nearly upon us! Soon, we will be able to hear everything that Faith No More have delicately crafted over these past couple of months, after believing for so long that another album was even possible! Well, actually, the wait is completely over, for those who are okay with streaming their music…

Today (May 11th), the band made their newest album, Sol Invictus, available for streaming via NPR in it’s entirety. Be sure you have some free time to take it all in, however, as, like most Faith No More releases, it’s quite a listen, and may take quite some time to fully digest:

Here’s the full track listing as well:

01. Sol Invictus
02. Superhero
03. Sunny Side Up
04. Separation Anxiety
05. Cone Of Shame
06. Rise Of The Fall
07. Black Friday
08. Motherfucker
09. Matador
10. From The Dead

Right from the start, this album seems to announce exactly what it’s supposed to be: something different. Maybe not so different from what Faith No More have done in the past, but different from any other release this year. The opening piano piece at the beginning of the title track almost seems to serve as a re-introduction to the band, like a handshake from an old friend you haven’t seen in quite some time, but as soon as this quick diversion to say hello is over, the band jumps right back to business. After this point, the band serves to demonstrate every great musical idea they’ve kept locked away for almost 20 years. Every single twisted, massive soundscape, to every barren, empty, hollow moment on this album seems as precisely calibrated as they can get.

Without slapping any unnecessary definitions, genres, or titles onto this album, at it’s core, this album is just a superb Faith No More record, and will not be written off when compared to the rest of their discography. It is absolutely, 100% worth a listen, for anyone who may be curious about seeing what the band has to offer this time around.

If you’re still on the fence on whether or not to give it a listen, just know that they dressed Duff McKagan as a gimp, and had him come on stage with them: