continue shopping



Faith No More are absolute legends in the alt-metal world who really made waves back in the 80s and 90s, where bands like Anthrax, Guns ’n’ Roses, Corey Taylor, and even Nirvana’s bassist said that the band was influenced by them. There’s no denying that Faith No More has left a huge legacy behind and are deserving of some kind of reverence. The best part about it, though? They’re back! The band announced way back in 2009 that they’d be coming back together, and Billy Gould has been dropping mention that they would eventually record another album ever since. Now, the time has come. The band has released a few singles so far, and now they have given an official name, date, and track listing for their first new material since 1997!


The album is titled Sol Invictus, meaning Unconquered Sun in latin, is the name of the sun god of the late Roman empire. It’s set to be released on May 19th, along with a single off the album, Superhero, which is set to be released on it’s own seven-inch on March 17th and a digital release on March 31st. Billy Gould spoke out about the new direction of the album, saying:

"What I can say is that I think through our experience as musicians over the years, I think what we're doing reflects where we've gone since we made our last record as FAITH NO MORE. I think this kicks things up a notch. And I think there's parts that are very powerful and there's parts that have a lot of 'space.' Everything we do, with our chemistry, the way we play; it's always going to sound like us. It's just what we do, that makes us feel good."
"When we split up, we explored what we could do on our own. During that time, we each developed what was a natural part of ourselves. Now, coming back, we have a wider perspective so we can do things we didn't even think of back in the day. If we were to decide to do country-western music, it would still sound like a FAITH NO MORE album. Together we have a strong collective identity, and when we work together it makes its own animal."

Roddy Bottum, the band’s keyboardist, also spoke to Australia’s Faster Louder about the album:

"I would say that it really does go back to out roots, and [it's] really gothic — it's really sort of in the dark and there's a lot of somber tones on it,"
"I get gut instincts from simple stripped down sounds, when we do that successfully, and, for me, there is a lot of those moments on the record. Like, not as dense as the place that we usually go, and there's a lot of places with a really simple instrumentation and pianos — there is a lot of pianos — and a lot of really, concise smart lyrics that can be heard and understood. And those sort of places on the record are the strongest for me."

Along with this, the track listing for the record was released:

01. Sol Invictus
02. Superhero
03. Sunny Side Up
04. Separation Anxiety
05. Cone of Shame
06. Rise of the Fall
07. Black Friday
08. Motherfucker
09. Matador
10. From the Dead

It’s all very exciting, and there’s a lot of hype building up for the album, but the band isn’t quite finished yet. The band also played an unheard song at a concert in Tokyo on February 18th, which you can watch here:

Roddy Bottum later confirmed on Twitter that the name of this new song was Cone of Shame. All in all, the song follows the same ideas that the band has put forth with Motherfucker, with a very heavy, but also quite slow. It also takes awhile to build up, before exploding at around the 2:00 mark. It’s definitely worth a listen.