continue shopping



Faith No More, the long-standing legends of the loud rock world, have been slowly building up to their newest album, and their first since 1997. They released their first new piece of music since ’97 a couple months ago with their single Motherfucker, which ended up being a Record Store Day single as well. They’ve also been slowly building up hype by playing their other singles during different live shows throughout the world. Now, as a way to promo the release of the 7” single for Superhero, which is due on March 17th, the band has released the single for streaming! The coolest part? They released it via However the band managed to arrange that, it’s certainly a nice touch.

You can listen to the new single here:

The first thing you’ll definitely notice about this single is the bass work on it, as it’s absolutely fucking phenomenal. Next, you’ll notice the haunting piano work done on the chorus to pair along with the amazing bass work. Finally, you may experience a sense of bliss when you realize just how good this song is. It really is just a testament to how on point one band can be with their songwriting skills almost 18 years later. Music Feeds hosted an interview with some Faith No More members (Mike Bordin [Drums], Roddy Bottum [Keyboards], and Jon Hudson [Guitar]) where they talked about what motivated them to make a new album, along with the musical direction of Sol Invictus. Roddy Bottum spoke about why they decided to make the new album:

"We, kind of, as a band, did a lot of shows together a couple of years ago, and it was a little bit of a coming together as friends and collaborators, and we liked being together again. And it seemed like new material was the next logical step after a bunch of reunion shows that we did. We wanted to continue doing what we do.”

"Yeah, there was a conscientious decision at one point, I remember, amongst us, backstage, kind of deciding that we really didn't wanna do any more shows just playing the old material. So we felt like the place to go was… I mean, to make ourselves feel good, we needed to make a record and make some new songs, and that's what we did. And it wasn't material that we had sitting around from before. It was all stuff that was inspired by the moment.”

And on the musical direction for the new album, Bottum also spoke:

"It's kind of like a sense of maturity, in a way. It sounds a little bit corny, but I think as people mature into their craft, it seems like oftentimes the most effect is achieved by stripping things down rather than throwing things on, and we had such a career of throwing things into the mix. We did that really well, but I feel a lot of it was just this crazy inundation of lots and lots and lots and lots and lots. And it feels like now, stripping things down… Like, I personally love to hear a solo instrument — like, put a piano and the voice togethera and nothing else. And that's a sign of maturity, to me, in a weird, corny way, but I like it an awful lot.”

You can watch the full interview here:

The band also unload the track listing and album art for the new record, which you can check out below! Sol Invictus is set to be released on march 19th, a bit over two weeks from now, so get hyped!

01 – “Sol Invictus”
02 – “Superhero”
03 – “Sunny Side Up”
04 – “Separation Anxiety”
05 – “Cone Of Shame”
06 – “Rise Of The Fall”
07 – “Black Friday”
08 – “Motherfucker”
09 – “Matador”
10 – “From The Dead”