continue shopping



It’s not very often nowadays that you see bands really go the distance, and stand the test of time. It’s only the rock legends of yesteryear that are able to hold 30th anniversary parties for themselves, typically. Well, in recent years, this has started to be disproven, as we have seen so many bands, big and small, from the 90s are staying strong and continuing to put out new music. Bands like Slipknot, Sepultura, Korn, Coal Chamber, Faith No More, and many others have all maintained a solid standing in the music industry for over 20 years. Now, to continue this trend, the nebulous metallers known as Fear Factory have announced that they will be releasing their follow-up to 2012’s The Industrialist!

This new album, titled Genexus, will be released worldwide on August 7th via Nuclear Blast. This album still features both original members Dino Cazeres and Burton C. Bell, along with drummer Mike Heller. As for the direction of the album, it’s somewhat of a concept album, with vocalist Burton C. Bell having this to say about it:

"The word 'genexus' is a hybrid of two words: 'genesis' and ‘nexus. This word describes the next transition in human evolution as man moves forward to a 'mechanical' state of being. Ray Kurzweil predicts that the singularity will occur around 2045. 'Genexus' is the term for that next evolutionary process. Where humans are machines, machines are human, and the differences are oblivious to the naked eye.”

"This album is a record of thought patterns, psychology and struggles of the Genexus generation. The cognitive machine has arrived, and it wants autonomy from the industry that created it. This machine struggles, like every other human has throughout the course of history. This is the story of every one of us.”

An aggressive metal record about the decaying, dystopian future of 2045, touching on the existential crisis that comes with being a man, a machine, both, or neither? Where does man end and machine begin? Is being a machine with the cognition of a human inherently negative? Are machines with the properties of people less than humans? If the album will answer any of these questions, then it definitely can’t come fast enough. Again, Genexus is set to stop on August 7th, so prepare yourselves

Here’s the full tracklist for the album:

01. Autonomous Combat System
02. Anodized
03. Dielectric
04. Soul Hacker
05. Protomech
06. Genexus
07. Church Of Execution
08. Regenerate
09. Battle For Utopia
10. Expiration Date

Bonus Tracks:
11. Mandatory Sacrifice (Genexus Remix)
12. Enhanced Reality