continue shopping



Roadrunner Records have announced that Swedish prog-metal band OPETH will be releasing their highly-anticipated 11th studio album on June 17th!  This new album has been one that the metal community has been talking about for years now, amongst massive desire for a follow-up to the [somewhat-dividing] tenth studio album "Heritage".

"Heritage" was released in 2011 and was a commercial success, however saw older Opeth fans who were vocal about the band's shifting sound, with publications such as Kerrang! stating: "It's an album that succeeds on its own terms but if it really does mark the effective end of Opeth as a metal band, that will remain our loss".

This should not come as any surprise however, as Opeth have long been heralded as a band that is extremely well-versed in brilliantly-diverse songwriting, capable of covering a wide variety of dynamics from the ultra heavy and growling, to acoustic-driven/more serene songs.

The Stockholm-based quintet has been hard at work writing this new album since 2012, and the mere announcement of the new full-length record has the community talking.  The album is entitled "Pale Communion" and is only 8 tracks, which are as follows:

1. Eternal Rains Will Come
2. Cusp of Eternity
3. Moon Above, Sun Below
4. Elysian Woes
5. Goblin
6. River
7. Voice of Treason
8. Faith in Others

Some songs will be instrumental as well, which is sure to delight any Opeth fan, where the mastery of riff-crafting is truly shown when these songs exist without vocals. This album was produced by Opeth-mastermind/frontman Mikael Akerfeldt and mixed by Porcupine Tree frontman/guitarist Steven Wilson.

The record will be launching its first single "Cusp of Eternity" on May 6th, and will be available for purchase via iTunes or Roadrunner Records' Webstore/O Merch.

The fine folks over at Metal Injection have been lucky enough to feast their ears on this new recording, and thankfully for us, writer Greg Kennelty has provided a brilliant track-by-track breakdown of the new material, even going as far to say, "So hey, Opeth. If any of you are reading this- thanks. You've written one of my favorite records of 2014. If not my favorite record of 2014.  If not my favorite record of the last few years."  Which, really, is saying quite a lot!

For the full breakdown, and the ultimate Swedish heavy metal tease.... read away!  Oh, be still my Swedish heart...

Photo courtesy of