continue shopping



We live in a wonderful time for music as listeners. It’s a time where we can hear entire albums a week before their set release date, and it’s all thanks to sites like YouTube, Spotify, and Soundcloud. It’s commonplace nowadays to stream a few singles off a new album a few weeks before it’s released, but Marilyn Manson has taken it a bit farther this time.

Like most artists working on releasing an album, Manson has been steadily releasing singles for his new album, The Pale Emperor. All of the songs showed some promise leading up to the albums set release date on January 20th, but now, a bit over a week before the set release of the album, The Pale Emperor in it’s entirety has been made available on Soundcloud. That’s right. All 10 songs (no deluxe edition tracks just yet, unfortunately) are all online, just waiting to be listened to.

You can listen to it here

Here’s the full track listing as well:

01. Killing Strangers
02. Deep Six
03. Third Day Of A Seven Day Binge
04. The Mephistopheles Of Los Angeles
05. Warship My Wreck
06. Slave Only Dreams To Be King
07. The Devil Beneath My Feet
08. Birds Of Hell Awaiting
09. Cupid Carries A Gun
10. Odds Of Even
11. Day 3 (deluxe edition only)
12. Fated, Faithful, Fatal (deluxe edition only)
13. Fall Of The House Of Death (deluxe edition only)

The album covers a wide range of different lyrical themes and backgrounds. Lazarus, Zeus, Narcissus, and Mephistopheles are all name dropped throughout the course of the album, while Manson’s lyrics seem to point to a rejection of god. At the beginning of Slave Only Dreams to be King as well, there’s a reading of an Ella Wheeler Wilcox poem sampled, that talks about the nature of free will and freedom.

Sonically, the album follows this slow but aggressive style throughout most of the songs on the album. Each song seems to lumber along, but still manages to maintain a writhing, punchy feeling behind it. It’s definitely worth a listen, especially since it’s free!